NFPA®

NATIONAL FIRE PROTECTION ASSOCIATION

The leading information and knowledge resource on fire, electrical and related hazards

MINUTES

NFPA Technical Committee on Special Equipment, Processes and Hazardous Materials (FCC-HAZ) NFPA 1 Pre-First Draft Meeting (Annual 2026 NFPA 1)

February 28th, 2024 11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. (Eastern)

Web/Teleconference

- **1.** Call to order. Mike Snyder, chair, called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m. on February 28th.
- **2. Introductions.** NFPA staff took attendance.
- 3. Chair report. Mike Snyder welcomed attendees and provided an overview of the meeting.
- **4. Staff liaison report.** Alex Ing provided an overview of the standards development process and the revision cycle schedule.
 - a. The no members declared that they had been retained to represent the interest of an entity that would be classified in an interest category different from their own with respect to a specific issue or issues that were addressed by the committee.
- **5. Previous meeting minutes.** The minutes from March 2022 Teleconference were approved without revision.
- 6. NFPA 1 Pre-First Draft.
 - a. **Task group reports.** The following task groups were discussed:
 - **i.** Commercial Cooking . Kelly Nicolello. The task group has been discharged with thanks as its work is now under the scope of the Haz Extract TG.
 - **ii. Inflatable Finishing Workstation**. Robert Davidson. The task group has been discharged with thanks as its work is now under the scope of the Haz Extract TG.
 - b. **Presentation(s).** The committee heard presentations and discussion on the following topics.
 - i. Extract Process and Extract consistency. Mike O'Brian and Cathy Stashack. See NFPA 1 Correlating Pre-Draft Minutes for further information.
 - ii. GHS Correlation . Ben Barrett.
 - iii. Correlating Committee Battery Task Group and other ESS topics (Agenda items 6(c)i -iv). Robert Davidson.

These minutes are considered preliminary until approved at the next committee meeting.

- iv. Flammable Refrigerants and Inflatable Finishing Workstations. See Task Groups below
- c. **Task groups.** The following task groups were appointed to work or continue work subsequent to the meeting:
 - i. Haz Extract. TG Chair: Robert Davidson. Members: Kelly Nicolello, Kevin Hall, David Hollinger, Nicholas Ozog, Leonard Ramo, Richard Kluge, Chris Butts, Cathy Stashak, Kevin Kelly, Geoff Raifsnider, Chris Searles, Bruce Rottner, Alex Spataru. This TG will review all the retained HAZ extracts for update this cycle and review for consistency with the source documents. Exclusive of NFPA 855 Extracts. This task group will also evaluate what extracted material needs to be retained in accordance with CC procedures.
 - ii. A2L Refrigerants. TG Chair: Cathy Stashak. Members: William Koffel, Daniel Buuck, Kelly Nicolello, John Tacker, Justin Biller, Michael O'Brian, Robert Davidson, Mike Snyder, Alex Spataru, Jim Kendzel, Andrew Klein, Joe Griner, Andrew Fukuda, Tom Deary, Jim Dominik. This task group will look at requirements around A2L refrigerants.
 - iii. NFPA 855 Correlating TG. TG Chair: Kelly Nicolello. Members: Robert Davidson, Michael O'Brian, Ernest Gallo, Michael Sheehan, Richard Kluge, Ranjee Chand, Kevin Kelly, Warren Bonisch, Ben Barrett. This TG will look at correlating NFPA 855 requirements and review extracts.
 - **iv. ABHR**. TG Chair: Bruce Johnson. Members: Robert Davidson, David Hollinger, Kelly Nicolello. The task group will work to correlate ABHR requirements with NFPA 30 and also evaluate the requirements for storage and use. The TG will also look at permitting around ABHR storage..
 - v. **Permitting**. TG Chair: Cathy Stashak. Members: Mike Snyder. This task group will look at revising the permitting requirements to distribute where permits are required to their subject chapters..

7. Other Business.

- **8.** Future meetings. The next committee meeting will be June 25th, 2024, in Orlando, FL. A meeting notification is be posted at www.nfpa.org/1next.
- **9. Adjournment.** The meeting was adjourned at 1:02 p.m. on February 28th, 2024.

Attendees

Committee Members:

✓	Snyder, Michael	Chair	Dekra Process Safety
✓	Barrett, Ben	Principal	Sporting Arms and Ammunition
	Butts, Chris	Principal	Sompo International
	Caliri, John	Principal	SLS Consulting, LLC

✓	Cifa, Kathryn	Principal	Bechtel National, Inc.
	Craig, Benjamin	Principal	Insight Risk/D.B.A. REM Risk Consultants
✓	Davidson, Robert	Principal	Davidson Code Concepts, LLC
	Dunkel, Jeffery	Principal	National Fire Sprinkler Association
✓	Fukuda, Andrew	Principal	International Association of Fire Fighters
✓	Galfano, Michael	Principal	United Assn. of Journeymen & Apprentices
✓	Garriss, Marvin	Principal	Fire Equipment Manufacturers' Association
✓	Griner, Joseph	Principal	Griner Engineering
✓	Hall, Kevin	Principal	American Fire Sprinkler Association
	Herrmann, James	Principal	Williams County Emergency Management
	Hickman, Bill	Principal	Colorado Division of Oil and Public Safety
✓	Hollinger, David	Principal	Drexel University
	Kelly, Kevin	Principal	Victaulic
✓	Koffel, William	Principal	Koffel Associates, Inc.
✓	Lauver, Matthew	Principal	US Department of the Navy: Naval
✓	Nicolello, Kelly	Principal	UL Solutions
✓	Olsen, Brian	Principal	American Petroleum Institute
✓	Ozog, Nicholas	Principal	Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc.
✓	Raifsnider, Geoffrey	Principal	Global Finishing Solutions
✓	Ramo, Leonard	Principal	Telgian Corporation
	Sandler, Ryan	Principal	Automatic Fire Alarm Association, Inc.
✓	Stashak, Catherine	Principal	Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal
✓	Willse, Peter	Principal	Portland Fire Marshal's Office
	Schubert, Randy	Voting Alternate	Alliance for Telecommunications Industry
✓	Bertolini, Bo	Alternate	Global Finishing Solutions
	Cannell, Dan	Alternate	Colorado Division of Oil and Public Safety
	Darby, Ty	Alternate	International Association of Fire Fighters
✓	DeFrees, Glenn	Alternate	SLS Consulting LLC
	Hawthorne, Edward	Alternate	American Petroleum Institute
✓	Johnson, Bruce	Alternate	UL Solutions
	Kimball, Roy	Alternate	Fire Equipment Manufacturers' Association
	McDonald, Joshua	Alternate	American Fire Sprinkler Association

	Putney, Chad	Alternate	Automatic Fire Alarm Association, Inc.
✓	Ritchey, Ronald	Alternate	National Fire Sprinkler Association
✓	Ing, Alex	Staff Liaison	National Fire Protection Association

Guests:

Honeywell CGS, representing IEEE Code Savy Consultants Scott Lang Chris Searles Mike O'Brian

Robby Dawson NFPA

Jonathan Humble National Multi-Housing Council

Patrick Bakaj **NFPA**

Total number in attendance: 30